fbpx

Every year, Dawlish is graced with railway specials that pass along our iconic railway line. Thanks to Colin Campbell‘s hard work, we have the latest proposed list for 2024. Please bookmark this page, as it will be updated with any changes as the year progresses.


Proposed Railway Special Trains through Dawlish in 2024
Day Date Express Title From To Motive Power Planned Locomotive (s)
Monday 01-Apr Midland Pulman Hull Paignton Diesel Midland Pullman
Friday 05-Apr Midland Pullman Plymouth Llandudno Diesel Midland Pullman
Friday 12-Apr Midland Pulman Berwick on Tweed Penzance Diesel Midland Pullman
Sunday 14-Apr Midland Pulman Penzance Berwick on Tweed Diesel Midland Pullman
Saturday 04-May English Riviera Express Shrewsbury Kingswear Steam LSL Pool
Saturday 04-May Spring Cornish Explorer Dorridge Penzance Diesel WCR 2 x 37
Sunday 05-May Royal Duchy Bristol Par Steam 45596 Bahamas
Friday 10-May GWR 1Z48 Birmingham Plymouth Steam 7029 Clun Castle
Saturday 11-May GWR 1Z48 Plymouth Paddington Steam 7029 Clun Castle
Thursday 23-May Cornish Riviera Statesman Shrewsbury Penzance Diesel 2 x 47/57
Friday 31-May Midland Pulman Carlisle Kingswear Diesel Midland Pulman
Saturday 01-Jun English Riviera Express Crewe Kingswear Steam LSL Pool
Saturday 01-Jun English Riviera Airshow Tame Bridge Paignton Diesel D1015 Western Champion
Saturday 15-Jun Steam Dreams Paddington Kingswear Steam TBA
Saturday 22-Jun English Riviera Express Woking Kingswear Steam LSL Pool
Thursday 27-Jun Midland Pulman Crewe Kingswear Diesel Midland Pulman
Saturday 29-Jun Maisy Day Cornishman Dorridge Penzance Diesel Class 50 x 2
Saturday 29-Jun Maisy Day Statesman Wolverhampton Penzance Diesel 2 x 47/57
Saturday 06-Jul English Riviera Express Northampton Kingswear Steam LSL Pool
Tuesday 09-Jul Midland Pulman York Kingswear Diesel Midland Pulman
Thursday 11-Jul The Golden Hind Milton Keynes Plymouth Steam LSL Pool
Tuesday 16-Jul Midland Pulman Holyhead Kingswear Diesel Midland Pulman
Saturday 20-Jul English Riviera Express Bedford Kingswear Steam LSL Pool
Wednesday 24-Jul Cornish Riviera Statesman Dorridge Penzance Diesel 2 x 47/57
Sunday 28-Jul Royal Duchy Bristol Par Steam LSL Pool
Wednesday 31-Jul Cornish Riviera Statesman Derby Penzance Diesel 2 x 47/57
Saturday 03-Aug English Riviera Express Wolverhampton Kingswear Steam LSL Pool
Wednesday 14-Aug Midland Pulman Chesterfield Kingswear Diesel Midland Pulman
Saturday 10-Aug English Riviera Express High Wycombe Kingswear Steam LSL Pool
Saturday 17-Aug English Riviera Express Poole Kingswear Steam LSL Pool
Sunday 18-Aug Royal Duchy Bristol Par Steam LSL Pool
Wednesday 21-Aug Midland Pulman Norwich Kingswear Diesel Midland Pulman
Saturday 24-Aug English Riviera Express Slough Kingswear Steam LSL Pool
Friday 30-Aug Midland Pulman Dumfries Penzance Diesel Midland Pullman
Saturday 31-Aug Midland Pullman Penzance Bath Diesel Midland Pullman
Sunday 01-Sep Midland Pullman Penzance Dumfries Diesel Midland Pullman
Sunday 08-Sep Royal Duchy Bristol Par Steam TBA
Saturday 14-Sep Midland Pulman Leeds Kingswear Diesel Midland Pulman
Wednesday 25-Sep The Golden Hind Shrewsbury Plymouth Steam LSL Pool
Wednesday 09-Oct The Golden Hind Worcester Plymouth Steam LSL Pool
LSL Steam Pool
34046 Braunton
46100 Royal Scot
70000 Britannia
60007 Sir Nigel Gresley
60532 Blue Peter
71000 Duke of Gloucester